Jamie McKelvie\’s Workblog


Hello hello. Fancy seeing you here.
June 27, 2007, 12:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello!

Now that the new edition of Previews is imminent, I suppose I had best start making use of this site to promote Suburban Glamour, my new series. To that end, I’ll use this first post to show you some art from the series.

First of all, here is the cover to issue 1:

Click to make it bigger.

Issue 1 – Astrid and Dave are teenagers stuck in a dead-end suburban town living uneventful lives – until Astrid gets a visit from her childhood imaginary friends, who tell her something big is about to happen. Are they real or is she crazy? Life is about to get a lot more interesting for the pair – interesting and very, very dangerous. From the co-creator of PHONOGRAM comes this tale of magic, mystery and underage drinking. 

And here is the ad that went into Previews:

Again, you’ve got to click it to big it.

So, what’s this all about then? Well… I have a tough time describing this series. On one level, it’s about me and my experiences growing up in a small town in the West Midlands. Like countless other teenagers, I felt trapped by my surroundings, and couldn’t wait to escape. But all the things I wanted to do, all the dreams I had, I was repeatedly told weren’t feasible. So in a sense it’s a story about how you deal with the need to escape, when everyone around you tells you the way you want to do it is impossible; how you adapt and grow up.

On another level, it’s a straight-up modern fantasy story. I’ve been describing it as Blue Monday meets Labyrinth, which I think fairly neatly pulls in both sides of it (group of teenagers up to no good in a small town setting vs. fairy tale worlds interacting with our own).

I’m not intending this book to be as heavy-going as Phonogram – what I intend to create is a fun, enjoyable and exciting comic that will hopefully contain a few truths about growing up.

Anyway, the first issue is out in September. I will be putting a preview online in the very near future. Please keep checking back regularly, as I am going to keep this blog updated with SG news as soon as it happens.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I can’t wait for this! I’m sure I will enjoy it (and analize it) as much as I did Phonogram.

Comment by Grimly Fi3ndish

Ooooh, that looks very cool. Time to talk to the comic-shop guys. :D

Comment by trini_naenae/Renee

[…] Suburban Glamour Tem cara de ser muito bom. Sai em setembro e já está na fila pra ser comprado. Assim como Phonogram (que já saiu). NP: Feist – The Water […]

Pingback by Na lista! « Psychocandy




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

