Jamie McKelvie\’s Workblog


Torrenting
November 1, 2007, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

There was a bit of a flap over at Lying in the Gutters recently over someone commenting here that they “acquired” my comic online and liked it.

Obviously I would much, much rather people bought the actual comics I produce than torrent them. Not only does it mean I earn money for the long hours I put into the work (and as it’s my fulltime job, it’s the only money I earn), it also shows my publisher AND retailers that there is an audience for my comics, improving my chances of continuing in this career. Not only that but my publisher benefits from a better-selling book, and as they’ve been very good to me that’s something I am keen to encourage.

But I’m not naive enough to think that this is going to stop people torrenting my stuff. So, with that in mind, if you *have* downloaded my comics and liked them, and you want to support the artist behind them so that he can continue to make comics, feel free to use the Paypal button below to send a few dollars or pounds my way.

(Under “Item”, put “torrent” or “donation” or whatever else you want. Paypal requires you fill in the field to say what the money you’re transferring is for.)


8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] This from his blog: Obviously I would much, much rather people bought the actual comics I produce than torrent them. Not only does it mean I earn money for the long hours I put into the work (and as it’s my fulltime job, it’s the only money I earn), it also shows my publisher AND retailers that there is an audience for my comics, improving my chances of continuing in this career. Not only that but my publisher benefits from a better-selling book, and as they’ve been very good to me that’s something I am keen to encourage. […]

Pingback by Jamie McKlevie has a PayPal button | Bent Corner

i don’t aquired online your comic. But i made a donation. People may think i’m crazy. But it’s the only way to have comics in the future. I’m not against downloading things, but just the big stuff, you must buy the small one (when i say small, it’s like indie for example)\
Hope my donation will serve for something.
Thanks to the blog of Ariana Osborne to show your post
Xav

Comment by xav

Jamie, How does the publisher view this? Might they think that this is trying to get money outside the normal route or somesuch?

I’m just thinking about the way contracts go on about licensing and exploitation of rights.

I wish you the best of luck with this.

(Oh, and I bought it the old fashioned way and am looking forward to reading more)

Comment by Tom Reynolds

I discussed it with Image first. As I make very clear in my post, I want people to buy the actual comic. This is just intended to reach people who download my work whether I ask for a donation or not.

Comment by mckelvie

I’ve been wondering why more people haven’t been doing this. The next step is for publishers to offer legal, reasonably priced downloads so that this isn’t necessary.

Comment by Ryan O'Hara

Hey i buy your comics
but i make a donation for all the people who torrent your comics

Comment by xav

And very grateful I am too, Xav!

Comment by mckelvie

[…] Glamour aux éditions Image Comics. Passablement énervé, l’homme vient de pousser un coup de gueule sur son blog contre les lecteurs qui ne se cachent pas d’avoir lu ses productions par des voies […]

Pingback by Un auteur de comics demande aux pirates de payer — Wartmag - BD, bande dessinée, manga, comics et pas seulement ! Archive




Leave a Reply

